_ Unofficial Xenomania fansite. Facebook Twitter RSS
Beyond Xenomania: Sacha Collisson
Posted at 3:57 PM, 16 June 2009 -

This is the second in a series of posts where we'll take a closer look at the musicians/songwriters that have worked with Xenomania, focusing on what they do outside the team.

Sacha Collisson is a British producer/ keyboardist/ guitarist who is working with Xenomania and is known for being a member of electronic music group Aurora. He gained early production experience working with Phil Manzanera and touring with the Roxy Music band. His new Unclubbed album project, featuring various artists performing acoustic club classics, is released in August.

Collisson was originally signed to EMI in the mid 1990s and went on to produce and remix records under various guises, most notably Aurora (along with fellow keyboardist Simon Greenaway). Before adopting the Aurora moniker, the pair had worked together as Think Twice, remixing tracks and collaborating with David Arnold on the James Bond film Tomorrow Never Dies.

Aurora had their mainstream breakthrough in 2000, with the release of a dance-oriented version of Duran Duran's "Ordinary World", which reached the top 5 in the UK. Their self-titled album was released in 2002, mixing adult contemporary sounds inside dance music.

Sacha Collisson produced records for Hoxton Whores, Stereo Scum, Disco Darlings and X1, participated in several projects (including Dive, Armin van Buuren, Kush and The Click), and has done session guitar work for Siobhan Donaghy and Daniel Bedingfield. He is now working on various projects with Xenomania - he recently appeared playing guitar and keyboards/programming in several Girls Aloud songs, as well as a few Pet Shop Boys and Alesha Dixon ones.

His new Unclubbed album project is out in August. Unclubbed is a collection of stripped back, acoustic covers of classic house tracks. The songs were deconstructed and then rebuilt, bringing out their timeless qualities hiding beneath the club beats.

The concept was born from a session with Sacha Collisson and John Fitz. The album features covers of hits like Moloko's "Sing It Back", Deee-Lite’s "Groove Is In The Heart", "Missing" by Everything But The Girl, "You Don't Know Me" by Armand Van Helden, iiO's "Rapture", "Touch Me" by Rui Da Silva, and many more. The songs are re-sung, rearranged and reinvented, performed by vocalists such as Katherine Ellis, Abigail Bailey, Rosie Gaines, Roachford, Sam Obernik, Sweet Female Attitude and more.

Unclubbed includes 14 covers, a few original interludes and a version of Sacha Collisson's own track "Mezmerized". You can stream the album here.

Buy Unclubbed: Recordstore.co.uk, Tower.com

Sacha Collisson MySpace
Sacha Collisson discography
Unclubbed MySpace
Aurora Productions
Aurora on MySpace

Labels: ,


x Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home

Older posts: May 2008 . June 2008 . July 2008 . August 2008 . September 2008 . October 2008 . January 2009 . February 2009 . March 2009 . April 2009 . May 2009 . June 2009 . July 2009 . August 2009 . September 2009 . October 2009 . November 2009 . December 2009 . January 2010 . February 2010 . March 2010 . April 2010 . May 2010 . June 2010 . July 2010 . August 2010 . September 2010 . October 2010 . June 2011 . July 2011 . August 2011 . December 2011 .